Honor Societies – Shorter University

Alpha Chi (All Academic Fields / Liberal Arts) – Alpha Chi is a prestigious national honor society open to the top 10% of Juniors and Seniors academically. Membership is by invitation only. Read more

  • Sponsor – Dr. Fabrice Poussin
  • Assistant Sponsors – Dr. Cory Barnes, Dr. Julie Pond, and Ms. Mary Corbin

Beta Beta Beta (Biological Honor Society) – National honor society for biologists, open to superior students of biology and allied sciences.

  • Sponsor –Dr. Paul Bond

Kappa Delta Pi – International honor society in Education; open to education majors by invitation only who have completed at least 30 hours of collegiate coursework, have at least 12 hours in education coursework programmed/completed, and achieved a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0.

  • Sponsor – Ms. Dena Tracy

Lambda Pi Eta (Communication Studies) – National Communication Association’s official honor society recognizes, fosters, and rewards outstanding scholastic achievement while stimulating interest in the communication discipline.

Pi Gamma Mu (Social Sciences) – International honor society in social sciences. The mission of Pi Gamma Mu is to encourage and promote excellence in the social sciences and to uphold the ideals of scholarship and service.

  • Sponsor – Dr. Jared Linebach

Pi Kappa Lambda (Music Honor Society) – National Honor Society for the highest level of musical achievement and academic scholarship.

Sigma Beta Delta (Business Management and Administration) – Members are business students who rank in the top 20% of the junior or senior class.

Sigma Tau Delta (English) – International honor society confers distinction for high achievement in English language, literature, and writing and is dedicated to fostering literacy and all aspects of the discipline of English.

Theta Alpha Kappa (Christian Studies) – National honor society dedicated to recognizing academic excellence in baccalaureate and post-baccalaureate students and in scholars in the fields of Religious Studies and Theology.

Alpha Psi Omega (Theatre) – National Theatre Honor Society for participants in collegiate theatre.

  • Sponsor – Mr. Drew Davidson